Driver Ed FAQ
How do I get inline, on-line at the DPS website to take my permit test instead of sitting and waiting on my number to be called at the DPS?
How do I get my learner's license?
- In order for a student to obtain a Learner's License, student must take the following items to the DPS:
- Student's birth certificate (original or certified copy only), US passport, or Resident Alien Card
- Social Security Card - Original
- Verification of Enrollment (VOE) and Attendance Form (get from your high school)
- Parent's proof of Texas residency (2 documents)
- Parent's proof of relationship to student
- DE-964 Form (get from the driving school)
- PARENT MUST SIGN TEXAS RESIDENCY AFFIDAVIT AT DPS.
Is there an expiration date on the ITTD certificate?
- The ITTD certification does not display an expiration date; however, the ITTD certificate is only valid for 90 days.
- If the applicant does not pass the driving skills examination within 90 days of the date on the certificate, they must review the video a second time.
When am I required to view the Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD)?
- Within 90 days of the road test.
- Applicants ages 18-and older are also required to complete the ITYD.
Can I drive out of state with my learner's license?
- This is one of the most frequently asked questions by new drivers. It's also hard to answer. Texas will allow you to drive in another state with a learner's permit, but because policies do change, it is best to contact the DMV or DPS in the states you are planning to visit.
- The following states ban permitted drivers: Arizona, Hawaii, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Vermont, and the District of Columbia.
Where is my learner’s license?
- The temporary Learner's License is valid for 30 days.
- If you have not received your Learner's License in the mail by the 3rd week, you can track it by visiting the TX DPS website.
- If you drive with an expired paper permit, you can receive a citation for an invalid license.
Parents must prove relationship with student?
- Beginning April 2, 2012 Parents must prove their relationship to the student before student will be issued a permit or license.
- Acceptable documentation includes, but are not limited to: marriage license, birth certificate, military dependent ID card, or adoption records
Must parent prove Texas residency?
- Beginning April 2, 2012 parents and students must provide 2 documents proving they are Texas residents before the teen is eligible to obtain a permit or license. Parents must also sign a Texas Residency Affidavit at the DPS office.
- Acceptable documents for parents (2 are needed): Texas voter's registration card, Texas auto registration or title, auto insurance policy or statement, homeowner's insurance policy, or utility or cable bill not more than 90 days old.
- Note: The name on the bills/statements must be the name of the parent accompanying the student to the DPS.
What forms of payments are accepted?
- Cash, credit card (MasterCard, Visa, or American Express), money order, or cashier check
- All payments must be made in full prior to the start of class.
What’s the policy to make-up class?
- A full hour of absence is charged to the student when he/she does not attend the full 55 minutes of instruction during a 60-minutes period. Accorging to state law, if a student is absent in excess of 10 hours, the student will be terminated from the class. Each missed class must be made-up.
- Example: If a student miss day 6, he can make up day 6 in the next class. You have 240 days from the date you started class to complete all makeup work. If you do not complete the makeup work, TDLR requires cancellation of the student's permit.
- Student will be added to the next available class, with seats permitted.
What’s the Provisional Driver’s License?
- All original licenses other than an instruction permit issued to persons under 18 years of age will be marked "Provisional." The license will be vertical and will be dated to expire on the applicant's next birthday occurring after the date of issuance.
- A fee is required to obtain this license. The renewal fee is required for each one year of renewal period. No renewal notice will be sent as it is the responsibility of the applicant to obtain a verification of enrollment and attendance from their school.
- If the instruction permit or the driver's license is not due for renewal, a fee is required for a duplicate instruction permit or duplicate license requested in the case of a lost license, change of address, or removal of GDL restriction.
What is a graduated license?
- The Texas Graduated Driver License (GDL) was implemented as a result of Senate Bill 577. This law changed original licensing requirements for persons under the age of 18. GDL creates two phases of driving requirements for minors. The effective date of this change in the law is January 1, 2002. Basic requirements for obtaining a license have not changed.
Applicants under the age of 18 must hold an instructional permit (learner's permit) for a minimum of six months prior to receiving a provisional Class A, B, or C driver's license. In addition, the minimum age of the person who must accompany any instruction permit holder while driving is 21 years of age.
Once the student has held a valid instruction permit or hardship license for a minimum of 6 months, has reached the age of 16, and has completed both the classroom and driving portions of driver's education, they are eligible to graduate to Phase Two.
Phase Two restricts the driving privileges of teens under the age of 18 for 6 months after receiving their Class C driver's license (your real Provisional Drivers License)! These teens may not operate a vehicle with more than one passenger in the car under the age of 21 who is not a family member.
In addition, they may not drive between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless it is necessary for the teen to attend or participate in employment or a school-related activity or because of a medical emergency.
During the first 12 months of having their Provisional License, the driver may NOT use a cell phone in any way, dialing, talking, or texting.
- The license restriction will state: TRC 545 424 applies until mm/dd/yy. This date indicates when the second phase of the graduated driver's license will expire for that individual. Upon completion of the 6 month period, the above time and/or passenger restriction no longer apply.
- The licensee may apply for a duplicate license at a DPS office to remove this restriction. A fee is required to obtain a duplicate license. If not, the restriction will be removed at the time the applicant renews the license on their next birthday, provided the Phase Two 6 month time has lapsed.
- There are 46 states and the District of Columbia which have some form of a graduated driver's license system. Studies have proven that students become better and safer drivers when they learn to drive with few distractions.
What is the cancellation policy?
- A administration fee of $10 is charge if the contract is canceled between on-line registration and prior to the start of class.
- The bank charge taken for processing your credit card will not be refunded when a refund is requested.
- After class has started, the remaining refund will be made to any student who cancels the enrollment contract before midnight of the third day, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and legal holidays, after the enrollment contract is signed by the prospective student, unless the student has completed the course and accepted a certificate of completion during that period.
What is the school's attendance and absence policy?
If a student is absent in excess of 5 days of the scheduled classroom or Zoom class training time, he/she will be terminated. A full hour of absence is charged to the student when he/she does not attend the full 55 minutes of instruction during a 60 minute period.
Can I still take the End-of-Course exam if I missed a class?
Effective May 01, 2021: Student must attend all 15 classroom / zoom classes (session 1 through session 15) prior to taking the EOC exam on session 16.
All make-up classes can be completed during the next month class. This make-up requirement only apply to the EOC exam. It doesn't apply to the written test for the Texas Learner's License (permit), which is administered on day 16.
What is the driving lesson no-show policy?
Effective February 01, 2021: The no-show fee for in-car driving lesson has increased from $50 to $100 per no-show. The direct cause for the increase is the continuing high number of missed driving lessons.
If you plan to cancel a driving lesson, the cancellation must be accomplished on-line on the school's website 24 hours prior to the scheduled driving appointment.
What is the refund policy?
- Refund computations will be based on actual instruction received through the last date of attendance.
- The effective date of the termination for refund purposes will be the earliest of the following: (a) the last day of attendance, if the student is terminated by the school, or (b) the date of receipt of written notice from the student.
- If tuition is collected in advance of entrance and, **If after the expiration of the 72-hour cancellation privilege, the student does not enter school, terminates enrollment, or withdraws, the school may retain up to $75 as administrative expenses: and, from the remainder, shall refund that portion of the classroom tuition and fees and behind-the-wheel tuition and fees for the services not previously received by the student.
- Refunds for items of extra expense to the student, including instructional supplies, books, missed driving lesson fees, laboratory fees, service charges, rentals, deposits and all other such ancillary miscellaneous charges, will be made within 30 days after the effective date of enrollment termination. A charge of $25.00 for the DE-964 certificate will be applied.
- A full refund of all tuition and fees is due and refundable in each of the following cases; (a) when an enrollee is not accepted by the school, (b) if the course of instruction is discontinued by the school at this location, or (c) if the student's enrollment was procured as a result of any misrepresentation in advertising, promotional materials of the school, or misrepresentation by the owner or representation of the school.
- Refunds shall be completed within 30 days after the effective date of termination.
- Classroom instruction and in-car instruction only refund computations will be based on actual instruction received less a $75.00 admin fee.
- Classroom / Zoom class instruction will be refunded at a rate of $18.75 per lesson and or $300.00 for the full course (package only)
- In-car instruction will be refunded at a rate of $14.28 per lesson and or $100.00 for the full course (package only)
- Teen In-car Lessons (Only) = Cost per lesson: $57.14 = Course Rate: $400.00
- Young adult in-car Lesson = Cost per lesson: $65
- Adult In-car Lesson = Cost per lesson: $75
- There are no refunds for expired contracts.
What is the BTW driving lesson cancellation policy?
- Tuition includes 7 drive lessons. Failure to attend or cancel a scheduled drive lesson will result in the loss of a drive lesson. If you need to change or cancel a drive time you must sign into your Student Center account. Drive times must be cancelled 24 hours in advance. Drive times cancelled less than 24 hours of the drive time will result in a late cancellation fee of $100. However, if another student take the drive time, the student will not be charge for the late cancellation.
- Parents must pick up students from class on time. Arriving 15 minutes late shall result in a $25.00 LATE FEE.
- Notice: PDES reserves the right to add a fuel surcharge fee per lesson as necessary if the price of fuel exceed $3.50 a gallon.
I already have a learn's permit, do I still have to complete BTW driving with a driving school?
- Yes, as of May 01, 2010, Texas law requires all teens to complete BTW training with a license instructor to obtain a driver's license.
- Teens that completed the Parent Taught Class, must complete their in-car driving lessons with their parent.
- Driving school are not allowed to drive teens that took the Parent Taught Course.
What’s the policy to cancel drive time?
- If you need to change or cancel a drive time, you must sign into your web site account.
- Drive time must be cancelled 24 hours in advance.
When do I schedule my road test for my license?
- Applicant must be 16 years old.
- The first available road test date is located on the back of the permit.
- Pioneer is authorized by the DPS to give the Road Test.
- Don't wait months for an appointment to take your road test at the DPS when you can take it today or tomorrow at Pioneer for a small fee.
What’s the grading policy?
- Progress standards must meet the requirements of the current rules adopted by the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (TDLR).
- Mastery is a prerequisite to awarding a grade of 70 or above.
- Evidence of mastery shall be determined by one or more of the following methods: 1) unit tests; 2) written assignments; 3) skills performance checklist; and 4) comprehensive examinations of knowledge and skills
What should I bring to class every day?
- Pen and paper.
What are the classrooms like?
- Our classroom is designed to give the student a fun and relaxing environment.
- State of the art equipment ensures that they receive up-to-date training.